Salt for Air by M.C Frank – Book Review

I recently finished my first trilogy of the year, which was written by one of my current favorite self made authors- M.C Frank. She is relentless. She has already written the No Ordinary Star Trilogy about a dystopian icy world, a Jane Eyre retelling, a Robin Hood retelling and now this, a merman fiction called Salt For Air.

img_6937.png

Salt for Air is one of her recent releases, that was published on 23rd October 2018, and is available for international shipping on Amazon and on kindle. I bought the book on kindle. But the cover is so beautiful, that I’m sure it will be worth owning a copy of this book just for it’s cover ๐Ÿ™‚

The book excerpt (taken from Amazon):ย 

Greek mythology meets The Little Mermaid in this delicious fantasy novel about a quiet, nerdy girl who meets a mer prince in her bathroom. Perfect for fans of The Heroes of Olympus and the Lux series.

My Review:

Now, I haven’t read either ‘Heroes of Olympus’ or the ‘Lux’ series, so I can’t say I picked up this book because I was a fan of either of these series. I bought this book because I had really enjoyed M.C. Frank’s No Ordinary Star trilogy and because I really admire a self made author who puts in so much love, research and effort into her work.

What I loved about the book:

  • This is not a love story, and yet a love story. But more importantly, this is a story about surviving bullies, about surviving loneliness, about finding the strength to get through an evil and relentless world, and about getting through loss. This story is about finding love and understanding the meaning of love. It is about sacrifice. It is about friends. It is about caring for yourself as much as you care for another being.
  • I love a book that teaches me things I wasn’t aware of earlier. And M.C. Frank taught me so much about Greece, its architecture, its mythology through this book. She taught me about the impact the current economic downturn has had on the lovely island and its hospitable people. She also taught me about Korean dramas and shows (that I really need to check out now, I wonder if they’re based on real shows..hehe). She taught me a new Korean word called ‘Saranghae’- which means, I love you ๐Ÿ™‚
  • I haven’t read a romance in a while now, because romance lately has become so much about sex than romance or love, and that turns me off a little. However, the chemistry between the leading characters in this story was amazing and I literally had butterflies in my stomach reading some of the scenes between the leading pair!

Things I wish were a little different in the book:

  • Like I said, I really admire and respect M.C Frank. I admire all self made authors really. So it is really hard to find something negative to write about in this review. However, I did wish that the scenes that happen towards the end of the book, had taken place in the middle of the book, because I really enjoy scenes on warfare
  • I wish there was more about the relationship between Maia and Elissavet. Maybe there will be a sequel? hehe ๐Ÿ˜€

So there it is. Do check out this book though, I’m sure it will be worth your time. Especially if you love fairy tale retellings, amazing chemistry between leading pairs and interested in all the good things I mentioned above:)

What have you been reading lately?

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s